Taming the Hobby Hoard!

In recent years the term ‘Hoarder’ has become very familiar with a series of television shows documenting some peoples struggles with sometimes life threatening accumulations of clutter and garbage. Todays post is much less dramatic, but is a common theme among veteran gamers and hobbyists-Taming the Hobby Hoard! What I’m really writing about is organizing, evaluating and setting some goals for my hobby collection. I just moved. My previous hobby/game areas were fairly well organized, but moving has forced me to touch and see everything in my collection. This is a great way to catalog, and remember what you have, some of the projects you have on the back burner and some fun, future projects and games to plan and work on. Over the last several years I have re-evaluated some models, projects armies and games, and made a tidy profit from selling some books and models. At this point I’m feeling good about what I’ve got, that I can and will find some use and play and work on most of these items in the next few years. Due to my slow output, and other obligations, and commitments, I’m becoming more realistic about how much, the quality, and actual use I’ll get out of an item. The fact is, I’m a collector. I enjoy aquiring new things. But I don’t buy all of the awesome new models constantly coming out, just to have them. I limit my self to the ones I really want, and that I’ll actually use to play with. I almost never buy cool models just to have. Other than the occasional anniversary model(25th anniversary 40K Space Marine). Finally my collection goes back to the late 80’s. I had a very modest collection until about 10 years ago, and have steadily aquired models and games.

My first love was Fantasy RPGs and Warhammer Fantasy Battle. almost half of my collection is fantasy based, mostly for WHFB. Over the years I’ve aquired several armies, Rules Editions, expansions and accessories. Despite having armies of painted Orcs and Dwarfs, I haven’t played that many games of WHFB. I’ve played a few games a of a couple of editions, have mostly kept up with Army Books, and Rules. I’ve decided I just can’t keep up anymore, and haven’t been interested in playing any fantasy games in the last couple of years. Obviously I’m not out buying any new armies. But I’ve got Three sizable WHFB battle projectss I’d like to keep, start/finish, and a modest collection of Warhammer, Confrontation and other models for alternative games and rulesets, such as HOTT, Fantasy Warriors,Mighty Armies, amongst about half a dozen. I’ve always wanted a couple of the ICONIC Fantasy armies, painted up for some epic battles or skirmishes. Since that is not my number one passion and interest at this moment, all of these projects are on the shelf for now. The army I will put on the schedule for the next two years will be the HIGH ELVES, which will be one of my main army projects for next year. I doubt I’ll find time to really get much going, but If I did it will be orgaizing, repairing models, and writing a current core list to paint up. WHFB lists are like 3000 points these days, and I’ve got well beyond that in my collection I’m sure, so this will be a major project, regardless of the initial core list I choose to write, maybe 2000 or something. I also have sizable collections of DWARFS, and WOOD ELVES. There is also a modest ORC and GOBLINS army half painted. Then there are some smaller collections of mostly older models. I’d have to say that my Fantasy collection is pretty solid at this point, I’ve got many of the classic models and units that I have always wanted. Now I’ve got to say that over the last few years there have been some amazing new armies, and models released. The amount of really cool terrain, monsters and wizards out recently are outstanding, but for now, I can say that I’ll not be buying anything Fantasy related for quite some time, even the new Hobbit/LOTR products coming out this year. Actually I recently found a cute little game called SUPER DUNGEON EXPLORE!, that should satisfy my interest for playing, collecting, and painting Fantasy and RPG type games for now. It is like a video game as a miniature board game, that my friends and family could learn and play.

Currently I’ve only been playing Warhammer 40K, so the focus of my next project and one of next years main projects(ones that I’d like to actually complete) will be related to that system.  My main interest lately has be sci-fi games, so SPACE HULK, WARPATH and HEAVY GEAR BLITZ are tops on my to-do list of hobby projects for the rest of this year and next. I’ve got a 2000 point SISTERS OF BATTLE army, which I have built and ready to start painting, as well as my SPACE HULK 3rd edition set, to finish building and paint. These two projects are for games I will definitely be able to play this year, so I’d really like to have them done and start playing. WARPATH and HEAVY GEAR BLITZ are some new games I don’t play yet. I’ve been colecting some WARPATH armies and would like to speed paint a couple of forces to try out the rules, not much diiferent from 40K, and I could use the same terrain(and models for that matter) for either game. HEAVY GEAR BLITZ is a game I’d like to find time to learn. I’ve got one army and will stick to that, and try to learn it well enough to start meeting and playing with some others I’ve been in contact with. I”l just stick with the one army for this, and maybe eventually will be one of the games I can take a little trip and play in a tournament once a year or so. I wanted to have a couple of Sci-Fi alternatives. I tried to avoid WARPATH, but got sucked in. I’m hoping to cap the collection to what I’ve got purchased at this point, luckily they haven’t released vehicles and such yet! Something about what they are doing, brings back some of the fun of the hobby for me, especially being a bit more affordable. I’d been very tempted to start new armies from the last 4-5 40K CODEXES, and have resisted, other than the CODEX books themselves, I like to have and refer to. Other projects include some EPIC models, and several possible rule-sets I own. My next 40K army will be a 2000 point VALHALLAN IMPERIAL GUARD army. Of course I’ll need to add two Leman Russ tanks and a Commisar Yarrick to the roughed out list I came up with the other night. I already have all the other models, I started collecting some IG about 3 years ago, and won a BANEBLADE around that time as well. I used some gift money for some VALKYRIES. I’ll aquire those models I need for that army project, around December, that is around my Birthday, and X-Mas I ususally have some disposable money, at least a little. Otherwise I’ll need not buy anything but supplies for the rest of the year. I’ve already spent my hobby budget till July anyway. And having moved recently, I’ve a much bigger need for some furniture and a TV/video game system(SPACE MARINE! finally).Ultimately, I’d love to have some more armies of various types, and some of the latest XENOS releases have been amazing. I’ve got models and vehicles that could be used for current or even new armies(SPACE MARINES and TYRANIDS), for now I’ll stick to the main projects, and for a diversion, could add a unit to existing armies a a later time.

Summing it all up. I’ve broken the Hoard into two main categories. Fantasy and Sci-Fi.  I’ve got many possible projects, additions and improvements, re-paints that could be dobne with a collection of this size. And I’ve already set my hobby goals for the rest of this year and a couple that will be featured next year. Based on ,my current out-put and commitments I’m going to set a goal of Five projects per year for the next five years, to really tame my collection. These are all things I want to do and projects I’ve spent time researching and collecting for, and mostly just need to be completed, so larger some smaller, mostly with quick painting methods in mind. I’d like to increase production, and will strive to find techniques and products to help achieve that. my 25 main projects in roughly and in no particular order:

1)Build and paint the EPIC models I have and play some version.

2)Purchase a Tervigon, for a legal TRYANID army, I’ve got plenty of Termaguants and Genestealers and some Broodlords to make a fun Nemesis army for themed battles at home.

3)Paint Terminators and build/paint Genestealers  for SPACE HULK

4)Paint some models for my ORCS and GOBLINS army(Giant, Spider Riding Goblin Hero, Orcs) for WHFB or fantasy system.

5)Fix, strip. repaint, build old metal ORCS and GOBLINS for some game system, include painted models from old army.

6)Finish painting WOODELF army as demo army for FANTASY WARRIORS.

7)Complete at least core army for HIGH ELVES for WHFB, and finish entire collection to good standard.

8)Paint CONFRONTATION models and play some skirmishes with the 3rd edition rules. Evaluate the RAGANAROK mass battle system, as possible fantasy system, to use.

9) Pull out play and learn one of the MAKGE KNIGHT sysytems, maybe adding models for fun. Could be a fun skirmish game for friends and family, could be a fun massed battle system and modles could be found cheap in the future.

10)Paint MIGHTY ARMIES dwarfs, maybe add a Nemesis army, or find a player. Very simple project.

11)Paint the RPG models, I’ve aquired mostly free some really random, mostlty metal D&D type models, that could be used for Roleplaying game should I need such a thing, I haven’t played one of those in many years, but woud like to have one or two around and get into some occasional games.

12)IMPERIAL GUARD army/ies. There are many ways to go with this project. I’ve mapped out a 2000 point Valhallan themed force with some VALKYRIES and some tanks that could be fun!

13)SISTERS OF BATTLE-up next on the painting cue!

14)SPACE MARINES, I have extra models built and bits and units for current armies or future projects.

15) I need to finish painting the REALM OF BATTLE Board in more detail, pick a theme. I need to paint some of the buildings ruins with more detail, and maybe add some bits, create some cool objective and terrain pices. Also I have battle field objectives kit to utilise.

16)Paint, detail, and create objective markers for PLANETSTRIKE, I still want to play more of.

17)I’ve got a medium sized box of UNDEAD models from over the years that could be used for various projects, games and rule systems. Zombies, Skeletons, Chariots,Wizards,Creatures.

18)WOOD ELVES starter army.

19)DWARFS starter army+.

20)HEAVY GEAR BLITZ! army!

21)WARPATH armies, PROJECT PANDORA, FORGEFATHERS, ORX, CORPORATION, VEERMYN. Paint small forces to try out rules/game/alternative to expenxsive GW shenanigans.

22)Prepare and Learn INCURSION game, perhaps assemble force for SOTTR some day.

23)Build, paint and base two armies for HOTT based on the LOTR I already have.

24)Play a BADAB WAR campaign, or have an ongoing regular campaign, with various associated projects.

25)Play MAGIG THE GATHERING with decks I own, be able to play in tournaments.

So, these are the projects I have to think about. They are not all huge armies to build and paint. I’d like to limit that to about one a year and less in the future,and enjoy doing some more current and smaller projects. It is easy to get overwhelmed and lose interest. I have been known to return to and complete and utilize a project, so I feel pretty good about my goals. Some require a lot of work and resources, others just need to be finished, and some are just gaming goals, requiring some time and frame of mind for such pursuits. The overarching goal is to create a games room, and collection of games and painted models to host a variety of themed games for friends and family, and to also be able to travel and play a few games abroad once in a while.  Well, time to get cracking on that SISTERS OF BATTLE paint job!

Leave a Reply

