Hobby Progress, 2012 4th Quarter Goals

 

Deathwing Squad

Deathwing Squad

I’m a little behind in my blogging but I’ve been active in my hobby lately. I have been expanding my interests in analog gaming a lot over the years. Most recently by adding SUPER DUNGEON EXPLORE, WARPATH, HEAVY GEAR BLITZ and a few other rule sets, and starter armies I’ve picked up. I’ve also got a modest collection of Fantasy Miniatures games and Rule-sets to bring to life.  I’m finding smaller projects easier to digest these days, and to try and capture that spark of enthusiasm, creativity or motivation when it hits, not to be too locked into inflexibility(the death of huge, involved army projects!). I’ve had this SISTERS OF BATTLE army to finish, but got bored painting the tanks. So I’ve been collecting, building and painting on other things as time permits. I played a couple of games of 40K 5th edition the other week with my regular gaming buddy Tom. After the battle and decided upon a re-match with the same armies. I was using my DARK ANGELS and Tom used his CHAOS SPACE MARINES. My entire army is painted, except for one squad of Deathwing Terminators, that includes an Apothecary and Belials’ standard. I declared that I would paint that very squad before said re-match! So it took about a week, but I did live up to that declaration, and finished a couple of objective markers and a Cyclone missile launcher I need to complete the DARK ANGELS army. Using this little project as a rut-buster was great. It was fairly quick and easy, I like painting Terminators, and there are no models unfinished in that particular collection which is a good feeling! It was great when Tom noticed the squad had been painted  (it was hard not to immediately declare my victory the minute I talked to him on the phone to arrange the battle!). I had to focus on rehearsing and practicing for a one-off show my band did out-of-town the following week, but I’m happy with that achievement and inspired to finish some more projects. I’ve got the SPACE HULK 3rd Edition Terminators and Genestealers in my hobby table now, and will alternate painting my SPACE HULK and WARPATH. I’ve also got PROJECT PANDORA, just 20 models, so I can squeeze that in before the end of the year. I’ll paint up a squad of SISTERS OF BATTLE and see what I can get done on that project soon. There is no real rush, as this will be an interesting army to use in the new 6th edition of 40K. There will be a codex, and it will probably be very cool. Until then I’ll gradually get them done, and probably won’t bother with 6th Edition for the moment. It was a challenge not pick up the new DARK VENGEANCE 40K set yesterday as I bought some paints at the GAME MATRIX in Tacoma. I know it is cool, and a great buy. I just don’t need the models, I’ve got plenty of the same stuff more or less now. The set will be around for years, I may change my mind tomorrow, so for now I’m resisting giving GW more of my money for the same stuff I already purchased. But we’ll see how long that lasts, I’m intrigued, and looking forward to the new WHITE DWARF concepts.

On Frugality this year, it has been a great year for me personally. I got a significant raise, and I have some great prospects for getting more money in the next few weeks taking on a new position at work. I bought a house, and have some financial obligations, but I have a bit of a savings going, and am enrolling in a 401k with a big % per check.  I do have a little bit of debt, mainly from some recent travel, and some things for the new house. But I have gained over $20,000 on the value of our house, my credit score has improved, I’ll be getting lower rates on loans, credit cards and can re-finance the house at a lower rate. On the other hand I’ve had a lot of travel and home expenses getting started here, also Nanette’s car needed some towing and repair. Over all, I’m doing well, but need to focus on saving for retirement and emergencies. I’ll want to replace one of our cars next year or soon after. I’ll want to paint the house next year. Fortunately I’ve got dozens of projects that I like that just need time,glue and/or paint. I like to collect a few rules-sets, such as Hordes, Secrets of the third Reich, Dwarf Wars, Warlord:Savage North, but have yet to purchase models for. In fact I’d like to move away from model specific game systems a little, and utilize models from different ranges to represent what I want for different size battles, scenarios and campaigns. There are several Fantasy Battle games that I’d like to play and compare. I really don’t need more models yet………………….the lure of the new, shiny, different is ever-present. I like to research and read about lots of different games and models. Occasionally some will grab my interest. I usually try to cool, off, keep researching and reading until I’m certain I want to invest in a certain game or set of models, and determine how many uses I could potentially get from a game or set. I have made some modest purchases, and actually sold of some of my collection to offset the costs and keep my hobby horde from getting entirely out of hand. I have utilised and enjoyed the things that I have collected this year, getting value for my entertainment dollar. I have re-evaluated my hobby over the last couple of years, and found some really cool, and more cost efficient ways to game, collect and paint miniatures for various games. Games Workshop has gone to far for me. I will continue to play and will probably support 6th edition to some extent, but I’m buying much of what the produce. It is a little redundant, and any army is a major expense these days. I can get double or more value from similar games, and have stumbled upon the greatest new thing to come along for miniature and game enthusiasts in this decade…………….

KICKSTARTER! Yes! Stop reading this article and go browse the games, INDIEGOGO as well. No you can contribute to the creation of models and games, and get unique or very cheap products directly from the creators, and companies. There have been some great campaigns. I found the DWARF ADVENTURERS BOX SET to be a lot of fun to watch, I also discovered the AXES AND ANVILS RPG interesting and spent about $100 on those combined. DRAKSULLS MENACE on INDIEGOGO, was starting to pick-up and thought I’d add a little to see if it would make its goals, and it really took off. I ended up getting a second perk by accident, but decided to keep it as a lot of cool looking concepts were achieved so what the heck. $250! oops! Finally as the REAPER BONES Campaign was winding down, the perks just EXPLODED!!!!!!!!! Various ranges, and my RPG interests have really grown again. Pathfinder seems really cool, not to mention a chance to get some cheap options, and I’ll get a free Swords&Wizardry PDF(D&D retro clone) among other great perks, 240 miniatures for $100 bucks. Amazing! So cool. So I’ve acquired another batch of future projects, some I’ll use, maybe some I’ll sell. Probably not. But none are game specific, and no one can tax me to use my own models, by changing rules, and army lists. I’ll probably build that bad-ass LAMENTERS army one day, but for now I’ll resist, and get a lot more for money and years of fun gaming!

Leave a Reply

