FORGEFATHERS Painted Jotunn Heavy Hailstorm Cannon/Poject Log part 5

Here is the completed Jotunn Heavy Hailstorm Cannons for my 1000 point demo army project. If you’ve seen painted examples before, you’ll notice there isn’t much you can do with this odd little vehicle. I used ARMY PAINTER Demon Yellow to base-coat and prime the models. Then I created a dark brown wash with some inks I had on hand. I have various older paint containers around, and so I’ve tried to incorporate those (for economic reasons) into this whole project. My goal is to create two demo armies, and teach some friends a real basic War game scenario, using the WARPATH 1 rules and these models I bought when WARPATH was released. After the washes ( I usually do multiple layers, until I get the amount for shading I want. I went pretty heavy with the washes, as I want to bring out detail, without having to spend hours blending and building up highlights. This is intended to be more of a ‘Speed-Painting’ project. I put a little bit more effort into the final product, but not much. After the washes had dried, I painted up any areas that looked like they should be metal, with some old GW Chainmail. I then used a metal wash I had left over from the ORX MARAUDERS. It was just some inks like black, blue purple I forget the recipe, see the ORX project log if you want, but it is a fairly common technique for metal. Or just some thinned down black ink will work fine. That is about it! There isn’t much more you do with these. I found a few little ares I painted red, or brown and blue. And If you really wanted to get creative and had a ton  of time and no other projects queued up, one could certainly develop some cool camouflage, or glowing details, light sourcing techniques. But for me the models aren’t really that great, I just want to demonstrate basic concepts of table-top war gaming to some friends. These will be available for my grandkids to learn with, or just play with. They are not going to be my MASTERPIECE ARMY I covet, and spent hundreds of hours correcting every detail. After I completed the base coats I washed the details as well, with brown wash. Then touched up any areas with some basic highlights. For  the metal areas I just dry brushed some Chainmail back on the metal parts. I had some old generic yellow acrylic hobby paint I used to highlight the yellow. straight out of the paint pot for the first highlight and about 70-30 white paint to yellow for the final highlight. I did very sparse highlights, mainly just the rivets and uppermost hard edges, very quickly less than 5 minutes probably. The models looked  boring so I dug through my decals and found some that fit into the very small areas I had available. First I brushed in a clear gloss varnish over the areas I wanted to apply decals. When dry I soaked the decals in water, and carefully set them into place. With a cherished  army or project, you’d paint that stuff on, or use a micro-sol setting product to soften the edges and get them placed nicely. The old school water technique worked fine for this project. Finally I sparyed the models with some old GW Purity Seal. When that dried, I added a little bit of soot waethering powder to the gun barrles, and a light wash of brown dirt waethering powder and water to the tracks and the model in general. I finished them with a final coat of Purity Seal. I usually use Testors Dull-coat, but had the Purity Seal on hand so I used it this case. Here they are in all their ‘Speed-Painted” glory! They don’t look great up-close, and some more time could of been spent cleaning up the models, as there are some ugly mold-lines I missed.  Next up I’ve got 39 Infantry to paint to complete this project. I probably wont finish this project by the end of the month, but I’ll get one or two of these squads finished, and have established the plan to get them done hopefully by Valentines’ Day!20130116_152637 20130116_152711

Leave a Reply

