HORDES OF THE THINGS:Lord of the Rings

A few years back my friend who happens to make a living with Ebay, dropped a Lord of the Rings Starter Box on my lap for $10, it had a large selection of models, that I added to, enough to build two forces for Hordes of the Things. HotT is a set of rules using elements of models on bases. These can be mini dioramas and represent troops, elites and heroes in you army. Two players choose their forces based on equal points two spend. This rule-set appeals to me for this project, as I’d never intended to jump onto another Games Workshop game, (LotR Strategy Battle Game, and War of the Ring) With the minimal investment I’d made, I’d have two armies to learn the rules,  and dabble in this style of game a little. Ultimately I think learning different rule-sets will give me new ways to look at situations in games in general. I enjoy collecting games and miniatures. I go through phases of interests. I like Fantasy and Sci-Fi, and a little bit of Weird War type stuff. I’m interested in playing in RPG, Skirmish ,mass Combat and Epic/Apocalyptic/Titanic battles. and board-games with painted miniatures. I want to move away from huge armies and paint smaller groups. I will still have some sizable armies, and I’d like armies for some other systems, with different models, basing systems, and scales. These are two very straight forward armies. I have Blades and Shooters on each side, and some Heroes. The Fellowship consists of some Elven archers and swords men, a Wizard and a Hero. The Goblins have a hero, some Goblin Spears, and Archers. I ordered some wooden bases in  the  frontage needed for the scales I’m using for the rule-set. Fellowship versus Goblins. Very Iconic. Hordes of the Things is popular with miniature enthusiasts all over, it will be cool to be able to travel with these armies and play in Vancouver, Canada for example. I was just pulling this project out one weekend. This will be a great project to work on some speed painting with. Another great game to build an army for is HEAVY GEAR BLITZ. I’ve got a big collection of GEARS for a Northern Army. That would be a good game to know if I head up North towards Canada. Most of my future projects will be two armies, or groups of miniatures so friends can play and learn a game and not have to invest money and time into it. And some might just be one army, to meet new people and go play in some new places, a good excuse to take some small trips. So here is a cool project I’ll be pulling out to work on some weekend. I’ll probably start by clipping the slots, cleaning the miniatures, then drilling and pins into the models, priming and painting before attaching to finished bases.20130407_134936 20130407_135002

Leave a Reply

