Where’s the BADAB? REALM OF BATTLE ICE WORLD BOARD

20131212_040515 20131212_040624As 2013comes to a close, and not many of my goals or projects are done, you may stumble upon this blog and wonder, WHERE IS THE BADAB? This is the Badab War Journal, is it not. Yet there is really no Badab War content here. Sure there is some mention of an non-existent LAMENTERS army project, and barely started SPACE HULK TERMINATORS, tied into the concept. Yet nothing on that completed! And yes there is 2000 point completely painted SPACE MARINE detachment using the name STAR PHANTOMS, but the colors are unfamiliar if you are referring to IMPERIAL ARMOUR 10. What is the deal!?

Yeah, I bought a house, changed jobs, started doing more with my band recently, have had other hobby things going on, and haven’t devoted much time to 40K lately. Yeah that happens. And lately I’ve had some time off, and had a chance to evaluate all of this, and here is what I’m working on, and that also includes more LAMENTERS and other BADAB themed projects. Here is the deal with my BADAB themed armies and games:

1) First off, I have been a BADAB WAR enthusiast since 1988 or so when the article came out in WD. It took many years to find a chapter to paint up, and took about three years to finish, So there is no rush. Since IMPERIAL ARMOUR 9 and 10, I haven’t really had the time, money or inclination to collect and paint several SPACE MARINE CHAPTERS. I’ll likely add more units, Chapters and armies to my BADAB project, but I’d like to have some diversity in scales and game types in my collection as well as my themed BADAB CAMPAIGN.

2) Doing a themed campaign is different than just having a tournament legal sized army. Having different themed table and terrain sets, and some special built scenery, is needed. Different units, and army compositions, the sky is the limit here. Just focusing on this time segment and several years war could be an all consuming hobby in itself. I’m thinking long term here.

3) Choosing rule-sets. The goal is more about a campaign, than competitive gaming so rules sets and scales can be creatively integrated into the overall experience.

4)Preparing ready made battles. I want friends to be able to come over and play. Bring nothing. All rules, and supplies are here. If you want to commit to providing a themed army great, but not required. The more armies the better. And certain forces are needed to recreate all of the key moments, battles and turning points.

These are the important things, that affect the timeliness of that ongoing project. In the meantime, I have been trying out some other systems, and expanding my repertoire into some other gaming areas for variety.

Onto the ICE WORLD GAME BOARD!!!

I have had my REALM OF BATTLE BOARD for about 4 years. It has remained primer gray the whole time. It served us well as a city type table with the GW ruins and walls. But I hadn’t committed to an actual color or theme for the board. For a few years I’m considered finalizing the board as a ICE WORLD. Not snow table. I’m talking ICE WORLD! I love the planet Hoth from STAR WARS the EMPIRE STRIKES BACK. No dirt popping through, just blue ice! Easier to do as well. I don’t have much time, and I’m lazy. But I want something I’m going to like, and want it done soon! Not someday. I finally had some cash and some time so I’m off to the races. I need a tarp I think, though as paint was getting all over the place, and I plan on getting some white to use to air brush the snow onto the blue primer.

I started with some texture spray from the hardware store a STONE TEXTURE. Pretty mild so I gave a couple of coats, after allowing drying time. I sprayed it on the slopes where models tend to slip and fall a lot. It was a lot cleaner and, faster and easier than gluing sand, the table is only subtly changed, you can still roll dice, etc. Next some Crystal Blue Army Painter Primer. After I airbrush it white, I’ll maybe add some snow flock or whatever else I can find at the hobby store. I’m filling in the skull pits somehow, as I’d like to represent different scales, and I don’t want to detail the board that much, just nice easy, ICE WORLD with some snow/ice. I’ll do some themed terrain latter. I’m planning on buying some. It isn’t cheap, but I’ll get a good amount to completely fill the table, just for a nice change from city ruins, walls and bunkers. I’ll post more soon, and maybe even paint some SISTERS OF BATTLE!

Leave a Reply

