DEADZONE Battle Mats, 40K Battle SPACE WOLVES vs CHAOS SPACE MARINES

20120623_212026The 1st shipment of the DEADZONE Kickstarter rewards has arrived, a nice big box chock full of goodies. Included were the awesome battle mats, so I decided to try them out. I had some terrain we needed to finish painting, so my friend Thomas and I primed up the ruins, dry brushed them with some of my POKORNY paint(from another Kickstarter), then proceeded to write up 2000 point lists for a 5th Edition Warhammer 40K battle. I forgot to take more pictures, but I’ll recount the battle, quickly. Thomas had first turn, we had pitched battle deployment, with command and control objectives. He had a base and I had a base. I screwed up big time, and forgot which building had the objective marker on his side of the table till , late in the game. He had most his force rushing towards my base, with some Obliterators holding some high ground, and not much to hide behind in the middle of the table. I have a drop pod force, with some Landspeeders, a Skyclaw pack. My army came in piece-meal, got shot to pieces, and most units did little to nothing. I still almost held to a draw, but I conceded the win, after the fourth turn was complete. It was very late, and my plan was shit, most of my detachment was neutralized. Still pretty fun. I had a dreadnaught, some terminators, a Wolf Lord, a Rune Priest and a couple of min/max squads in Razorbacks. I made some mistakes, and would like to sue this formation for a couple of battles, to get a chance to remember all of the special rules. All in all a fun, and productive Hobby day for me, awesome! We should be able to get back to a more consistent gaming schedule in 2014! And I have two more REALM OF BATTLE boards to prime blue, and I have some white paint to do the airbrushing for my ICE WORLD TABLE> Its just really cold out, but maybe I’ll work on that today or tomorrow, before my vacation ends!

More on the Battle. Thomas got some shots off on his first turn, leaving my RAZORBACK immobilized, and weapon destroyed, so utterly useless, and my squad ran to my base. My Venerable Dread dropped in and destroyed a Rhino, but was basically finished after that, soon becoming terrain. My Terminators in the second drop pod weathered a ton of shooting, but both they and my assault squad missed assaults by a fraction of an inch, there fore got shot to pieces, and did nothing. My reserves refused to come in in a timely fashion, but I still held it together until the end, there was no hope for a win, as he had enough to keep from claiming any objectives cleanly.

As far as the DAEDZONE battle mats, they worked, great, dice rolling was good, looked good, and I’m very pleased with them. They would scale up or down easily, and are in 2’x2′ squares. They look very similar to my treasured, rare and fragile GW 6’x4′ Cities of Death Battle mat, so it was great.

Leave a Reply

